http://asialifecambodia.com/?m=news&a=detail&news_id=23

EXCLUSIVE INTERVIEW WITH ASIALIFE: “Hopefully this will also help people realize that Cambodia is a safe, fantastic place to visit” Just before his ground-breaking concert in Phnom Penh’s Olympic Stadium, the Irish pop-star spoke with AsiaLIFE Phnom Penh’s Deputy Editor, Liz Ledden about music, his family and Cambodia. AsiaLIFE: Who are your main musical influences and favourite artists? Ronan: “I really like The Fray, Gavin DeGraw, bands like U2, Van Morrison, Bon Jovi, singer-songwriters like George Michael, and any new stuff, it always changes.” AsiaLIFE: What provides the inspiration for your lyrics? Ronan: “Places I’ve been, people I’ve met. We do live in a negative time, we always see images of poverty and hunger so I try to bring something positive to my music, some optimism and escapism.” AsiaLIFE: What do you enjoy doing when you’re not touring and performing? Ronan: “Well I’m a dad first and foremost, so spending time with my three kids. I like playing golf, relaxing, cars, motorbikes – anything with an engine.” AsiaLIFE: What do you miss most about home when you’re on tour? Ronan: “My family, and my own bed. There’s something about being in your own bed, we have a saying in Ireland that ‘there’s no fireplace like your own fireplace’. Although once I’m home for a while I look forward to travelling again, I really do love being on tour.” AsiaLIFE: Do you have any crazy fans or stalkers? Ronan: ”Sometimes! Every now and then one pops up.” AsiaLIFE: Have you heard from any Cambodian fans? Ronan: “I haven’t really heard from any yet, but maybe I will after this. Hopefully this will also help people realize that Cambodia is a safe, fantastic place to visit and be good for tourism here.” AsiaLIFE: What plans do you have for the future? Ronan: “Some more touring, and I’m writing songs for a new album which is due out in July next year.” Ronan asked to keep a copy of the May issue of AsiaLIFE Phnom Penh, which we gladly obliged. Hopefully he’ll enjoy reading it!!

…thank to sofia…RKML

